Little Legends Nursery
0161 222 6188

The Early Years
Foundation Stage (EYFS)

Little Legends follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS). The EYFS sets the standard for the learning, development and care of children in England from birth to 5 years old. All schools and Ofsted-registered early years' providers must follow the EYFS, including childminders, preschools, nurseries and school reception classes.

Areas of learning

The EYFS comprises of seven areas of learning, these include the prime areas and the specific areas.

The prime areas lay the foundations for learning they run through everything that children do and support all further learning. The prime areas are:-
  • communication and language
  • physical development
  • personal, social and emotional development
The specific areas are the skills and knowledge that children need as they grow and develop. They grow from the secure foundations laid by the prime areas. The specific areas are:-
  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design

Characteristics of Effective Learning

The curriculum recognises that how children learn is as important as what children learn. Through access to a structured -play environment and well planned learning experiences your child's disposition to learning will be fostered by caring and enthusiastic nursery practitioners.

The Characteristics of effective learning are
  • Engagement - Playing and exploring
  • Motivation - Active learning
  • Thinking - Creating and thinking critically
More information is available in the parent's guide to the EYFS, 'What to Expect When'.